How much does it cost?
Price is vehicle specific. The best way to get a free estimate is to contact us.
How long does it take to tint the windows on my vehicle?
Vehicles vary from one to the next. The average install is about an hour and a half. Some factors that may play a part in the time involved are: What kind of vehicle, If old tint removal is involved or if an obstruction might be in the way of a professional install.
How long does it take for the window film to cure?
The moisture we use for install can remain between the film and windows for up to 2 to 3 weeks; sometimes longer in colder climates. Moisture or condensation comes in the forms of haziness and water bubbles or pockets. They clear up. The moisture simply evaporates. Never try to push around any of these water pockets, for this can create air pockets which don’t go away on their own.
Does the tint go on the inside or outside of the windows?
All tint is installed on the inside of the vehicle windows. Sometimes a customer may see prepping being done on the outside. For example: the shrinking of the rear windshield.
What can I clean the windows with?
After the curing process and the film has dried for three days you can use non-abrasive cleaners that don’t contain ammonia or vinegar. A full bottle of water mixed with a small amount of Isopropyl alcohol with a drop of any dish detergent.
Are the rear windshields tinted in one piece?
Yes we are some of the most experienced window tinters in Kansas City.
How long do I need to keep my windows up?
After install, the tinted windows will need to remain up for three days.
Does it cost extra to remove old film?
Yes the removal of film is a painstaking tedious task that can some times take many hours of work. Prices range depending on how bad the film has bubbled and how it comes off. Some or all back window defrosters can stop functioning if the film is removed wrong. it is my recommendation to always have a professional remove old back window film.
What are the laws on tinting?
Window tinting changes from state to state. Missouri window tinting laws state that 35% Visible Light Transmission for the front two windows and you can go as dark as 5% also called limo tint on the back half of the car. As for Kansas 35% VLT is the legal limit any lower numbered percentages are illegal.
Missouri Law allows window tint on the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver of 35 percent, plus or minus three percent light transmittance. Any tint with less light transmittance on these windows requires a physician’s prescription indicating the serious medical condition that exists and the specific tint percentage needed above the standard allowance.
A permit is required to operate a vehicle with tinting applied to the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver with less light transmittance than the 35 percent, plus or minus three percent. The permit may be issued by the HighwayPatrol if the applicant requesting the permit has obtained a written prescription in the name of the vehicle owner from a physician,issued within one year, stating the specific tint percentage needed due to the specified medical disorder.
Can my spouse drive the vehicle if I get a permit?
A permit allows operation of the vehicle by members of the immediate family who are a husband, wife, son, or daughter who reside in the household.
Will my vehicle pass a safety inspection with tinting applied to the front side windows?
Missouri law does not require safety inspection stations to inspect window tinting for compliance during a safety inspection.Therefore, safety inspection stations no longer consider window tint compliance a part of the safety inspection. Missouri law enforcement officers will strictly enforce the window tint law.
If I operate a leased vehicle can I obtain a permit?
If you meet all the required criteria for obtaining a permit and your vehicle registration certificate includes your name, such as ACME Leasing c/o of John Doe, you may apply for a permit.
How do I prove to a police officer that the tinting on my front windows is legal?
You must carry the window tinting permit in your vehicle at all times. Also, when the permit is issued a sticker will be affixed to the lower left corner of your windshield and a decal will be placed on the rear window or rear bumper.